A new Stagg EUB!

After some careful consideration I decided it would be a better idea to get a new Stagg RDL bass with the improved rosewood fingerboard instead of putting more money in the black bass. I started to like the Stagg more and more and was also using it increasingly at home besides my acoustic double bass. So I was on the lookout!

The bridge on a honey Stagg EUBThe RDL version of the Stagg is hard to get in the Netherlands. Or in fact Europe… Not so many music stores or luthiers stock the “old” Stagg model to begin with and the new model was nowhere to be found… I asked around for a few quotes and got back everything between 499 euro (in Germany and out of stock) to 699 euro (on order). That is a staggering 40% difference!

In the end I decided to order the bass from my regular local music store, van Gorp music, at a very decent price. A little more than 499 euro but I got it in only a few days! I picked a honey coloured one.

It was only later that I found out that one of the luthiers I had visited a few times before also sold the Stagg EUB, a bit more expensive but with a planed fingerboard and adjusted top nut… Too bad. But I visited him later anyhow and he did a very good planing job at a decent price.

I think the newer Stagg version is a much better bass than the older version. It has the aforementioned rosewood fingerboard that looks, feels and sounds better, better body supports (now screwed in so that they don’t fall out everytime) and the better headstock design. All in all well worth the relatively small price difference.

Leave a Reply

